Official Carrier of Bamako Encounters

Pan-African Exhibition

Curator: Marie-Ann Yemsi
40 projects by artists and artists’ collectives
Location: National Museum of Mali

The selected artists – as witness bearers and agents for change for Africa – have been invited to examine the transformations of the modern world and possible new developments for the continent. By means of the various projects chosen, this collective exhibition showcases the scope of possibilities and unprecedented freedom of the artists in depicting the world for us. The project is similar to what Achille Mbembe has called “the memory’s poetic output”: a work of reassembly in the present, producing meaning. Through their great diversity of approaches and visual languages, the 40 artists and collectives generate alternative narratives about Africa that build new bonds with the past, shed light on the present and open up perspectives for the future. After Bamako, the 11th Rencontres will be shown in the Netherlands in April 2018 in partnership with the Museum of World Cultures.

Artists selected for the Pan-African exhibition

Héla AMMAR (Tunisia)
Bianca BALDI (South Africa)
Raphaël BARONTINI (France)
Neil BELOUFA (France - Algeria)
Zied BEN ROMDHANE (Tunisia)
Girma BERTA (Ethiopia)
Sibusiso BHEKA (South Africa)
Dawit L.PETROS (Eritrea/Canada)
Mai AL SHAZLY (Egypt),
Yvonne BUCHHEIM (Germany),
Magdalena KALLENBERGER (Germany),
Hagar MASOUD (Egypt),
Nadia MOUNIER (Egypt),
Omneia NAGUIB (Egypt)
Joana CHOUMALI (Ivory Coast)
Julien CREUZET (France)
Mounir FATMI (France - Morocco)
Rahima GAMBO (Nigeria)
Gabrielle GOLIATH (South Africa)
Eric GYAMFI (Ghana)
Kelvin HAIZEL (Ghana)
Mahamoud IBRAHIM (Comoros)
Délio JASSE (Angola)
Hélène JAYET (France - Mali)
Lola KEYEZUA (Angola)
Phumzile KHANYILE (South Africa)
Youcef KRACHE (Algeria)
Michael MCGARRY (South Africa)
George MAHASHE (South Africa)
Fototala King MASSASSY (Mali)
Teddy MAZINA (Burundi)
Mpho MOKGADI (South Africa)
Baudouin MOUANDA (Republic of the Congo)
Joseph MOURA (DRC)
Musa NXUMALO (South Africa)
Qudus ONIKEKU (Nigeria)
Alain POLO (DRC)
Rina RALAY-RANAIVO (Madagascar)
Athi-Patra RUGA (South Africa)
Fethi SAHRAOUI (Algeria)
Christian SANNA (Madagascar – France)
Zina SARO-WIWA (Nigeria)
Bogosi SEKHUKHUNI (South Africa)
Georges SENGA (DRC)
Sarah WAISWA (Uganda – Kenya)
Institut Français
Ministère de la Culture de l’Artisanat et du Tourisme du Mali